• Home
  • Info
  • Product Certification Scheme

Product Certification Scheme

CAI Certification Scheme, previously known as Benchmarking Scheme, lays down the minimum standards of product performance based on specified parameters for satisfactory signal reception and network distribution. The testing and certification does not cover the standard of construction and durability.  These factors are left to individual manufacturer warranty descriptions.

There are two certification schemes - LTE aerials and coaxial cables.

The specifications for both have been compiled by industry wide committees who monitor the implementation of the schemes through CAI's Assessment Executive. Applicants and holders of CAI product certification are bound by legal binding contracts that secure adherence to all aspects of the certification. Sample testing of products sold to the trade or in the open market ensures on going conformity.

Both schemes are at the moment purely a voluntary arrangement within the industry.  However they are widely adopted by broadcasters and government departments. Certified products should always be used in conjunction with the installation practice laid down in CAI's Codes of Practice and the recommendations in DTG R Books .

Each certified product will display a CAI Certification Scheme logo representing the test standard. To view the CAI Certification logo's view our Help & Advice section. 

Aerial Certification Scheme

This scheme lays down the minimum standards for the technical performance of UHF TV aerials based on the specific requirements for satisfactory digital terrestrial TV (DTT) reception. Aerials are categorised into 2 standards which both relate to aerials designed to minimise interference from Long Term Evolution products (LTE).

Standard F
This is the new LTE standard for 'Fringe' aerial reception and should provide acceptable reception for homes on the edge of the primary service area.

Standard S
This is the new LTE standard for 'Standard' aerial reception and is an intermediate level suitable for use across the whole of a DTT coverage area.

View Certified Aerials

Certify an Aerial

Cable Certification Scheme

The Cable Certification Scheme lays down minimum standards for the technical performance of coaxial cable based on the specific requirements for satisfactory reception and network distribution of signals from terrestrial or satellite transmissions. There are currently 7 cable certifications:

Type 100 
Type 125
Type 165
Type RG6 (SDU)
Type 100 5 Core
Twin Type 0.65
Twin Type 100

View Certified Cables

Certify a Cable